It's Always sunny, period.
Nov. 29th, 2011 07:47 amHad my own mini-fandom reunion Sunday! I cannot make this stuff up; vacationing in Walt Disney World, I ran into
emmagrant01 and Baby Grant. There were hugs and squees! Not only that, I swear to god I saw the two of them this time the previous year in Disney World (she says they were indeed here at that time). CANNOT MAKE IT UP.
In other Disney World cannot-make-it-up anecdotes, I owe a great evening meal to a package of... well, wait for it. Mom and I decided to hit the Magic Kingdom last night to grab dinner and watch parade and fireworks, despite a run of rain. Not to worry; rainy days are a great time to go to the parks: shorter lines. I always travel with those little packet dollar store rain ponchos; before we leave the room, I reach in the drawer where I'd stowed the travel umbrellas and the puffy ponchos in their little plastic baggies and grab them and stuff them into a bigger plastic bag for toting. All set, right?
Bus pulls up to the Magic Kingdom. It's drizzling. I reach into the big bag, grab a puffy little poncho packet...
...which turns out to be the plastic travel baggie in which I stow a maxipad, four minipads and two tampons. I have left the hotel carrying one poncho and one baggie of feminine hygiene products. THEY FELT EXACTLY THE SAME. CANNOT MAKE THIS STUFF UP, GUYS.
Hilarity ensues; it's way too funny to be upset over it. What also ensues, though, is the "You wear the poncho," "Don't be silly, YOU wear the poncho," looking-out-for-each-other argument which does not resolve; I try to amend it with, "Oh, I'll just buy an extra poncho in the park, " but of course Mom is in full Mom-mode, turning on the, "Don't be ridiculous; I don't even want a poncho, you wear this one, I absolutely refuse to wear one, IF YOU TRY TO BUY ME ONE I WILL NOT WEAR IT I WILL STOMP ON IT AND THROW IT AWAY AND CALL YOU NAMES YAH BOO."
One way or t'other, we have to get off the bus, and it's a genuinely chilly drizzle. Realizing I have lost the poncho fight and unhappy about it, I say, "Look, instead of going into the park and seeking dinner in this drizzle and waiting two hours for the parade, would you like to go the Polynesian Hotel from here and see if we can get a table at Kona Café or something? We'll certainly have a wait but we'll be warm and dry and we can go down to the counter service place if the wait's unbearable and then we can come back here and still hit the parade and fireworks if we feel like it." This is pronounced sensible; we board the resort monorail and go to the Poly.
Kona Café has a 45 minute wait; this does not surprise us in this rain; we rarely try to eat at a table service restaurant in WDW without reservations because the waits are mad. But the helpful cast member gestures and says, "If you want to eat at the sushi bar, they not only serve sushi but our full menu." I did not know this and this is ideal! I love sushi but it's not my mom's favorite, and I wouldn't have pushed it on her but we sit and order a small host of dishes and within minutes are served:
1. the yummiest volcano roll I've ever had
2. an awesome salad
3. butternut-lemongrass bisque
3. a mountain of teriyaki-hot mustard-glazed chicken wings so vast we have leftovers for days.
Replete, warm, and carrying a doggy bag whose garlicky aroma fortifies us all through the rest of the night, we return to the Magic Kingdom just in time to catch the parade and fireworks and then go back to the hotel and not get too wet or too cold in the duration. Great night.
(The package of feminine hygiene products survived the trip handily, you'll be happy to know.)
In other Disney World cannot-make-it-up anecdotes, I owe a great evening meal to a package of... well, wait for it. Mom and I decided to hit the Magic Kingdom last night to grab dinner and watch parade and fireworks, despite a run of rain. Not to worry; rainy days are a great time to go to the parks: shorter lines. I always travel with those little packet dollar store rain ponchos; before we leave the room, I reach in the drawer where I'd stowed the travel umbrellas and the puffy ponchos in their little plastic baggies and grab them and stuff them into a bigger plastic bag for toting. All set, right?
Bus pulls up to the Magic Kingdom. It's drizzling. I reach into the big bag, grab a puffy little poncho packet...
...which turns out to be the plastic travel baggie in which I stow a maxipad, four minipads and two tampons. I have left the hotel carrying one poncho and one baggie of feminine hygiene products. THEY FELT EXACTLY THE SAME. CANNOT MAKE THIS STUFF UP, GUYS.
Hilarity ensues; it's way too funny to be upset over it. What also ensues, though, is the "You wear the poncho," "Don't be silly, YOU wear the poncho," looking-out-for-each-other argument which does not resolve; I try to amend it with, "Oh, I'll just buy an extra poncho in the park, " but of course Mom is in full Mom-mode, turning on the, "Don't be ridiculous; I don't even want a poncho, you wear this one, I absolutely refuse to wear one, IF YOU TRY TO BUY ME ONE I WILL NOT WEAR IT I WILL STOMP ON IT AND THROW IT AWAY AND CALL YOU NAMES YAH BOO."
One way or t'other, we have to get off the bus, and it's a genuinely chilly drizzle. Realizing I have lost the poncho fight and unhappy about it, I say, "Look, instead of going into the park and seeking dinner in this drizzle and waiting two hours for the parade, would you like to go the Polynesian Hotel from here and see if we can get a table at Kona Café or something? We'll certainly have a wait but we'll be warm and dry and we can go down to the counter service place if the wait's unbearable and then we can come back here and still hit the parade and fireworks if we feel like it." This is pronounced sensible; we board the resort monorail and go to the Poly.
Kona Café has a 45 minute wait; this does not surprise us in this rain; we rarely try to eat at a table service restaurant in WDW without reservations because the waits are mad. But the helpful cast member gestures and says, "If you want to eat at the sushi bar, they not only serve sushi but our full menu." I did not know this and this is ideal! I love sushi but it's not my mom's favorite, and I wouldn't have pushed it on her but we sit and order a small host of dishes and within minutes are served:
1. the yummiest volcano roll I've ever had
2. an awesome salad
3. butternut-lemongrass bisque
3. a mountain of teriyaki-hot mustard-glazed chicken wings so vast we have leftovers for days.
Replete, warm, and carrying a doggy bag whose garlicky aroma fortifies us all through the rest of the night, we return to the Magic Kingdom just in time to catch the parade and fireworks and then go back to the hotel and not get too wet or too cold in the duration. Great night.
(The package of feminine hygiene products survived the trip handily, you'll be happy to know.)
no subject
Date: 2011-11-29 01:47 pm (UTC)Excellent managing of the rain. And wow. Abandoning all my outdoor rock festival training, I forgot to bring cheapie ponchos this weekend. Luckily, we did not get any significant rain from Thursday midafternoon through when we left Sunday morning.
Glad the restaurant strategy worked!
no subject
Date: 2011-11-30 12:56 am (UTC)Universal is something else. The way they put together HarryPotterLand (as I call it) with all the snow-covered buildings is beautiful. I could just stare in the shop windows for ages.
no subject
Date: 2011-11-30 01:11 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-30 01:10 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-30 01:37 pm (UTC)Some of the swoops on the Forbidden Journey feel steeper than Dragon Challenge. If you go again, DO give it a try!
no subject
Date: 2011-12-01 01:48 pm (UTC)I actually tried Flight of the Hippogriff and said, "What the hell was THAT?", it was so wussy. I'd never go on that again, it was pathetic!
no subject
Date: 2011-12-01 03:16 pm (UTC)If you ever come visit here I'll take you to Six Flags, and give you the All-Coaster tour of the park. If you hate big drops we might need to skip Superman/Bizarro, but I have a secret for the first big drop on that: it lasts 4.5 seconds. Count to five while it's happening, and you're through it, and the rest of the ride is splendid, as it should be, considering the number of awards that thing's won. There are some banked turns that lay you out nearly horizontal, which is sheer glory in my book! And Pandemonium has mild drops but the cars spin like a Tilt-A-Whirl, which is brilliant, and there are TWO vintage wooden coasters, and Batman has been known to convert the coaster-wary into fans. I know because I dragged a very apprehensive
I caught the coaster bug when I was 13, at a really old-school amusement park, Paragon Park in Hull. The "Giant Coaster" there was a wooden coaster built in 1917, and lovingly maintained. The adrenaline rush was addictive. The park has since burned down, but the coaster survived: it now lives at the Six Flags park in Maryland, and I made a pilgrimage a few years ago to ride it again. It still is that good.
no subject
Date: 2011-12-01 03:21 pm (UTC)I went on it six times. ;-)
no subject
Date: 2011-12-01 04:18 pm (UTC)(Upside down does not bother me--I've found it to be fun!)
My favorite roller coaster anywhere is Space Mountain because there are no big drops (three little drops and one slightly bigger-than-little one) and its format is easy to memorize once you've gone on it the first time that trip. Just a ton of really fast, non-nausea-inducing spiraling. I adore it.
So tell me which ones I should try that have no big drops or launches! I love that you are so knowledgeable!
no subject
Date: 2011-12-01 04:51 pm (UTC)Hm. Take a look at this article: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roller_coaster_elements It should help you sort out what stuff you like best, and which roller coasters to try and which to avoid.
If you like Space Mountain, you will love Pandemonium, with the tilt-a-whirl spinny cars. The Revenge of the Mummy coaster at Universal should also suit you, as it's not huge on the drops and it has some very pleasing spiraling.
Most of the Bollinger & Mabillard inverted coasters will probably fit your tastes, because they tend to have that pre-drop before the main one that takes the tension off the lift chain and provides a little breathing moment for a rider. I wish I could take you on Batman: The Dark Knight (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batman_%E2%80%93_The_Dark_Knight_(Six_Flags_New_England)) at Six Flags New England, because that pre-drop? Angles you out with such a beautiful view over the Connecticut River, it's like a little moment of peace, and then WHEE you're diving into the first loop. And the zero-g roll and the corkscrews are sheer joy.
Knowing the physics of coasters makes them MORE fun for me, not less. I only wish I'd looked up the Hollywood Rip Ride Rockit before I went on it - all those references to "design problems" might have warned me it'd suck. Ow ow ow.
no subject
Date: 2011-12-02 12:01 pm (UTC)I cannot bear spinning, though. The tilt-a-whirl is OUT, the tea cups are out, I went on Primeval Whirl once and was screaming the whole way, dying to get off. I love the drama and experience of Mission: Space (in fact it's one of my favorite rides in the world) but I can only do the non-spinning version. There are two rides in Universal that have very short spins, Spider-Man and Men In Black, and I can handle those because they're over really fast, but it's a close thing. So anything that promises "tilt-a-whirl spinny cars" is going to have me running far away.
You're exactly right about Tower of Terror and other drop rides. I detest them. I'm, like, nearly offended by people who like them, I think they're so dreadful. :D
Another ride I adore, if this tells you anything, is Dinosaur. Its bumpy, fast, this-way-and-that track (without big drops!) is so much fun.
I found that Wikipedia webpage when I was looking up heartline roll! I had no idea there was so much terminology in the architecture; I was on that page for half an hour yesterday!
no subject
Date: 2011-12-02 12:08 pm (UTC)Primeval Whirl was the one that wasn't Everest in the Animal Kingdom, right? That one was no good either, but one of the reasons I didn't like it is that we could barely get the car to spin us at all, and we just got yanked around curves in an ouchy way.
I'd say, just try one of the B&M inverted coasters, because the pre-drop will probably suit you nicely.
no subject
Date: 2011-12-02 12:43 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-12-02 12:45 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-29 02:56 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-30 12:57 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-29 03:05 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-30 12:58 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-29 04:52 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-30 12:59 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-29 06:26 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-30 01:02 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-30 05:01 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-11-30 01:08 pm (UTC)