amanuensis1: (Default)
[personal profile] amanuensis1
(Okay, movie reviews are cheery and fannish, yeah? Even if the movies are grim? Well, it's a nice transition.)

Buried is a dancing bear of a film, not to be judged too harshly at how it executes its pretense because it's remarkable it was allowed to be made this way at all. Buried takes place in a coffin. Completely in a coffin. No scenes of the action outside at all. No flashbacks, thank god. There's a cell phone in that coffin, so we're allowed images and there are lots of outside voices, but that's it. All Ryan Reynolds all the time.

It's not as Blair-Witch-y as I had expected (hoped?). There are multiple camera angles and a few stylized shots, so it's a bit roomy for a coffin-limited film. I have criticisms but I'm still delighted someone made an hour-and-a-half film under these circumstances without any bloody flashbacks.

I would have preferred a little more Blair Witch-ness to the style. Part of the reason films like Blair Witch and Cloverfield and Paranormal Activity--notice these are all horror films that have used this structure? Would like to discuss that at some point--work so well is the lack of music (and other conventional "look, things are getting creepy!" filmmaking cues) ratchets up the horror in a stark way. A couple of elements took on eye-rolling, "Of course that's got to happen next," disbelief and the music just added to the silliness. But it did need those multiple camera angles to sustain a film that long, so, at least a little polish of that nature worked well for it.

Am very pleased this film was made, even if I didn't unconditionally love it. Or, well, love it. Worth the watch, though. Glad I saw it.

Date: 2011-03-19 04:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ariadneelda.livejournal.com
Ooh, a friend told me about this some time ago! And because it didn't sound like something I'd like to see (way too claustrophobic), I was curious and asked him about the ending, so now, even if I changed my mind, there wouldn't be much point to watch it without the suspense of how it ends. ;) Anyway, interesting to know two different opinions about this film. (Unlike you, he wasn't really glad to have seen it, and he usually likes this kind of movies.)

Date: 2011-03-20 01:25 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
There's stuff in it that made me roll my eyes, but I always ask myself how I would have done things differently if I'd had control of the film, and there are only a few things with which I flat-out disagreed. I applaud it as an experiment in filmmaking. Like Time Code--clever concept, not really a memorable film in itself for me.

Date: 2011-03-19 11:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] iibnf.livejournal.com
SPOILER









Doesn't he die at the end?

Date: 2011-03-20 01:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
SPOILER SPAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACE

WILL PUT RESPONSE IN WHITE BELOW








Date: 2011-03-20 12:37 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aphephobia.livejournal.com
I REALLY want to see this.

Date: 2011-03-20 01:30 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
I love experimental filmmaking. Memento remains one of my favorite films.

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 04:31 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios