Half-Blood Prince.
Short version: Hooray for the film doing a great job with a book I thought was badly flawed. It came much closer to selling me on its story, and I only felt the absence of perhaps one element from the book. I enjoyed it lots, and a good portion of it felt perfect.
No secret I was badly disappointed in the book of HBP. Summary of my ranty reasons:
1. All those Pensieve trips. Pure exposition; so much so that I thought, "There has to be something else going on with these." I tried to make plot out of it.
2. As soon as Dumbledore explained horcruxes I said, "Harry's one," and expected Dumbledore to try to off Harry by the end of the book. I thought that's what all the exposition and the cave and Dumbledore's odd behavior was leading to.
3. Snape's loyalties are spelled out right from the Spinner's End scene, so for Harry to remain in ignorance at the end of the book insults the reader.
4. Emotionlessly-done Harry/Ginny, all tell, no show.
So I've been looking forward to the film a lot, because I had nowhere to go but up from there, and thought it was likely that the film could tell the story in a more credible way. Maybe Snape's motives could be better concealed, maybe they could develop the Harry/Ginny visually in a way the book couldn't.
And I was really pleased with how hard they tried. Reducing the Pensieve jaunts. Thank god. Only one major scene of that, and a minor one which instantly began to drive scenes that followed (Harry pursuing Slughorn), and the last one then moved directly into the final action sequence. That part in particular was gratifying because it gave a sort of "quick, don't linger on this" glossover to the whole "is Harry a horcrux, is Dumbledore taking Harry somewhere to kill him" --but did you notice how Dumbledore's eyes flick up to Harry's when he says, "I may have...found another one," tellingly? In the books Dumbledore's known about this all along, but perhaps the films are trying to make that a dawning moment for Dumbledore. Harry has that weird flash-scene moment when he touches the dead ring, immediately before. Innnnnnteresting.
This film flowed, with almost every scene leading into another, and less of the change-of-seasons lightness that marks the earlier films. This film should be effing dark, and Harry sober as they made him to be, following Sirius's death as it does, and I didn't have the feeling of irreverence in this film as I did in the book, not once. (Even Harry chatting up the café waitress seemed cynical and nihilist.)
Harry/Ginny, I'm giving them all kinds of credit for working on it, putting Harry and Ginny together as much as possible in emotionally connecting moments. Recognizing that they had none of those from the first five films (because there were almost none in the first five books) and doing what they could. They even did their best to put the kibosh on the Harry/Hermione chemistry in a, "Please, everyone, we're going to spell it out for you that Harry thinks of Hermione as just a friend, because even we think this one is going to need an anvil of 'No!' We're going to have to ask you to stop going there." I didn't quite buy the Harry/Ginny, still. By the time Hermione asks Harry, "What do you feel when you look at Ginny and Dean? I've seen the way you look at her," I thought, "Ah, nope, too early. If you'd asked that at the end of another hour of this I think I'd've bought it. I'm sorry, I know you just didn't have that hour." But credit for doing their best, and I like to think they might have sold a lot of the audience on it nonetheless.
Snape's loyalties--I've never disliked the scenes that lay his loyalties bare, I've just argued that you can't lay all that groundwork and then pretend it's a secret you're keeping for the next book. And I don't see how the filmmakers could subvert that without completely rewriting the last book. So one could suggest that his loyalties should be made more obscure. But the film's brought me to the point where I see that's just not possible, it cheapens Snape not to give the audience his story. I still think it's wrong for Harry not to be given it as well at the end of this chapter. It turns Half-Blood Prince into half a book instead of a book, and I hate that, BUT I think they did what they could to display how Harry is being kept in the dark and even say, "Yes, it's unfair, isn't it."
Before the film I would have argued (did argue) that removing the Spinner's End scene was the wisest way to make his motives less obvious. By abbreviating it as they did, removing Snape's laundry list of excuses that keep him in Voldemort's graces, it was at the least much less a wet fish in the face. Nevertheless you still felt Snape was roped into it, felt his bravado as he steps up to the Vow, felt his "Oh, I'm fucked," as he hesitates before part three of the Vow. And the scene where Dumbledore and Snape argue, I'm glad they kept that, because it can't be helped, Snape's loyalties are meant to be gleaned by the audience, that's all there is to it, and to do less is to cheat him.
Did many of you feel cheated by the omission of "Don't call me coward" at the end? I think it was (blasphemy!) a wise elimination. This is the line that dangles a shove of meaning in front of Harry, and by keeping that from Harry (Snape's coldness during that scene, omigod, that was incredible), it's the grim look of the filmmakers out the fourth wall, saying, "Yeah, we know. It couldn't be more unfair that they're keeping Harry in the dark, isn't it." Snape didn't get the least hint of passion, the implication that he cared at all what Harry thought of him, without that line. Nothing upon which Harry could pick up. Yes, I think they were wise.
Okay, on to other points. How have I got this far into this and not mentioned Draco so far? Well, because Draco's part in this book is the gleam of rubies beneath the rubbish, and if the filmmakers didn't know that, sheesh, no one could help them. This was the good stuff, and they knew it, and it was beautiful. I adored that the Borgin and Burkes scene was turned into "an intitiation," because we deserved that, that sort of dark ceremonial feel to this plot. (And I'm not speaking of Death Eater initiation orgyfic for once. Wasn't even going there.--I know, I must not be feeling well.) Draco's progressive scenes with the cabinet were haunting. (Anyone else flash on Jeff Goldblum in The Fly?) By the time we reached the crying-in-the-bathroom scene Draco's terrified frustration just pulsed off the screen, and I kiss every one of the film's creators for what they did with the Draco-sees-Katie-Bell scene and making the Sectumsempra scene work that marvelously. Draco on the tower was the unhappiest and most miserable of young men, as he should have been in that scene, and the inclusion of Harry analysing Draco's actions at the very last ("No. He was lowering his wand,") had me swooning with how utterly attentive they'd been to the core plot. Yes, I'm a thesaurus of superlatives for this. Deal.
I mentioned I felt only one real omission; in general, much as I did with Order of the Phoenix, I watched this film all the way through without any litany of, "Oh, they cut that...oh, they left that out." At the least if I did notice something I didn't think, "How dare they cut that." (Though the absence of the "I'm his head of house, and I shall decide how hard..." line did have me thinking, "Ah, shit,
femmequixotic must be crying buckets.") Y'gotta judge a film on how it works as a film; them's the rules. But I did jaw-drop a little that they didn't explain "half-blood Prince," and left the audience to believe it's some pompous title. It's the TITLE OF THE FILM, fergoshsakes. I really expected Hermione to say to Harry, there on the tower at the end, "I looked it up...Prince was Snape's mother's maiden name. And his father was a Muggle." 'S all it would have taken.
Can we talk about the slash? Of course we can, it's my journal. Yes, there were all those Harry-stalking-Draco moments (how fitting that Harry laments that the ache of unrequited love "feels like this," just as they cut to a shot of Draco slinking), but the two unsurpassed moments for me were actually not between the boys (though they involved each of them).
Harry: You said Slughorn would try to collect me.
Dumbledore: Yes.
Harry: ...Do you want me to let him.
ALDFJAS;LKFL RENTBOY!HARRY HOMG. ALBUS YOU PIMP.
Second, when Snape has Draco up against the wall, and the camera pans off of them to eavesdropping!Harry just as Snape is oozing, "if you let. Me. Assist. You," I swear I heard the zipper. NOT HALLUCINATING.
Bits and pieces:
-I did not like Lavender's performance. She was a caricature. I much preferred the flirtiness shown by the Patil twins in the previous film, and expected Lavender to be more along those lines, not nearly so over-the-top. Even the glimpse we had of Romilda was realistic, and Luna, for all her loopiness, is nevertheless grounded. It was as if they'd pulled Lavender in from some cartoon. (But I blame the directors, not the actress.)
-The pensieve-memory effect was visually arresting, just beautiful. And I loved how
luminescent Riddle looked.
-Harry watching Malfoy on the map while he's in bed, OH WHAT IS YOUR RIGHT HAND DOING HARRY. BIT OF A TOSSER INDEED. Okay, that one's almost up there with the other two unsurpassed moments.
-I wince to imagine the number of screencaps that will feature Ginny rising from tying Harry's shoelace with her head at just...THAT...height.
-Harry high on Felix Felicis merits ROFLing. Hippy Dippy Weather Harry. And the scene with Aragog's dead body would have felt wayyy too long if not for the fact that we were seeing that Felix Felicis just makes things CRAYZEE.
-Am still convinced that Rickman could make a rock orgasm just with his voice.
-DRACO GOT DADDY'S PIMPSTICK.
-I was worried that Harry would not feel like the center of this film from the way the previews seemed to show everything but him. Shouldn't have worried. He still carried the film, was its center, even as other characters seized the spotlight at every turn. It's still about Harry.
-Even as the scene showcased the woes of Neville, I had to laugh that it carried through on Belby falling out of Slughorn's graces. Nice, that.
-HELLO LUCIUS'S PICTURE.
-Dumbledore: "I'm sure you must be wondering why I brought you here, Harry." Harry: "Actually, sir, after six years, I just sort of go with it." Sometimes Lampshade Hanging is perfect, yes.
-The Burrow-burning scene has been dubbed Wizards of the Corn.
-Man, I liked Hermione's Christmas Party dress.
Lots of other stuff. Just because I didn't mention it doesn't mean I didn't like it.
I've already heard a lot of criticism of the way many scenes were changed, but here I am, sitting back and saying, I thought it worked for me as a film, and none of the abbreviations or deletions, save one, bothered me in particular. The floor's open to discussion for any dissenters. ^_^
Short version: Hooray for the film doing a great job with a book I thought was badly flawed. It came much closer to selling me on its story, and I only felt the absence of perhaps one element from the book. I enjoyed it lots, and a good portion of it felt perfect.
No secret I was badly disappointed in the book of HBP. Summary of my ranty reasons:
1. All those Pensieve trips. Pure exposition; so much so that I thought, "There has to be something else going on with these." I tried to make plot out of it.
2. As soon as Dumbledore explained horcruxes I said, "Harry's one," and expected Dumbledore to try to off Harry by the end of the book. I thought that's what all the exposition and the cave and Dumbledore's odd behavior was leading to.
3. Snape's loyalties are spelled out right from the Spinner's End scene, so for Harry to remain in ignorance at the end of the book insults the reader.
4. Emotionlessly-done Harry/Ginny, all tell, no show.
So I've been looking forward to the film a lot, because I had nowhere to go but up from there, and thought it was likely that the film could tell the story in a more credible way. Maybe Snape's motives could be better concealed, maybe they could develop the Harry/Ginny visually in a way the book couldn't.
And I was really pleased with how hard they tried. Reducing the Pensieve jaunts. Thank god. Only one major scene of that, and a minor one which instantly began to drive scenes that followed (Harry pursuing Slughorn), and the last one then moved directly into the final action sequence. That part in particular was gratifying because it gave a sort of "quick, don't linger on this" glossover to the whole "is Harry a horcrux, is Dumbledore taking Harry somewhere to kill him" --but did you notice how Dumbledore's eyes flick up to Harry's when he says, "I may have...found another one," tellingly? In the books Dumbledore's known about this all along, but perhaps the films are trying to make that a dawning moment for Dumbledore. Harry has that weird flash-scene moment when he touches the dead ring, immediately before. Innnnnnteresting.
This film flowed, with almost every scene leading into another, and less of the change-of-seasons lightness that marks the earlier films. This film should be effing dark, and Harry sober as they made him to be, following Sirius's death as it does, and I didn't have the feeling of irreverence in this film as I did in the book, not once. (Even Harry chatting up the café waitress seemed cynical and nihilist.)
Harry/Ginny, I'm giving them all kinds of credit for working on it, putting Harry and Ginny together as much as possible in emotionally connecting moments. Recognizing that they had none of those from the first five films (because there were almost none in the first five books) and doing what they could. They even did their best to put the kibosh on the Harry/Hermione chemistry in a, "Please, everyone, we're going to spell it out for you that Harry thinks of Hermione as just a friend, because even we think this one is going to need an anvil of 'No!' We're going to have to ask you to stop going there." I didn't quite buy the Harry/Ginny, still. By the time Hermione asks Harry, "What do you feel when you look at Ginny and Dean? I've seen the way you look at her," I thought, "Ah, nope, too early. If you'd asked that at the end of another hour of this I think I'd've bought it. I'm sorry, I know you just didn't have that hour." But credit for doing their best, and I like to think they might have sold a lot of the audience on it nonetheless.
Snape's loyalties--I've never disliked the scenes that lay his loyalties bare, I've just argued that you can't lay all that groundwork and then pretend it's a secret you're keeping for the next book. And I don't see how the filmmakers could subvert that without completely rewriting the last book. So one could suggest that his loyalties should be made more obscure. But the film's brought me to the point where I see that's just not possible, it cheapens Snape not to give the audience his story. I still think it's wrong for Harry not to be given it as well at the end of this chapter. It turns Half-Blood Prince into half a book instead of a book, and I hate that, BUT I think they did what they could to display how Harry is being kept in the dark and even say, "Yes, it's unfair, isn't it."
Before the film I would have argued (did argue) that removing the Spinner's End scene was the wisest way to make his motives less obvious. By abbreviating it as they did, removing Snape's laundry list of excuses that keep him in Voldemort's graces, it was at the least much less a wet fish in the face. Nevertheless you still felt Snape was roped into it, felt his bravado as he steps up to the Vow, felt his "Oh, I'm fucked," as he hesitates before part three of the Vow. And the scene where Dumbledore and Snape argue, I'm glad they kept that, because it can't be helped, Snape's loyalties are meant to be gleaned by the audience, that's all there is to it, and to do less is to cheat him.
Did many of you feel cheated by the omission of "Don't call me coward" at the end? I think it was (blasphemy!) a wise elimination. This is the line that dangles a shove of meaning in front of Harry, and by keeping that from Harry (Snape's coldness during that scene, omigod, that was incredible), it's the grim look of the filmmakers out the fourth wall, saying, "Yeah, we know. It couldn't be more unfair that they're keeping Harry in the dark, isn't it." Snape didn't get the least hint of passion, the implication that he cared at all what Harry thought of him, without that line. Nothing upon which Harry could pick up. Yes, I think they were wise.
Okay, on to other points. How have I got this far into this and not mentioned Draco so far? Well, because Draco's part in this book is the gleam of rubies beneath the rubbish, and if the filmmakers didn't know that, sheesh, no one could help them. This was the good stuff, and they knew it, and it was beautiful. I adored that the Borgin and Burkes scene was turned into "an intitiation," because we deserved that, that sort of dark ceremonial feel to this plot. (And I'm not speaking of Death Eater initiation orgyfic for once. Wasn't even going there.--I know, I must not be feeling well.) Draco's progressive scenes with the cabinet were haunting. (Anyone else flash on Jeff Goldblum in The Fly?) By the time we reached the crying-in-the-bathroom scene Draco's terrified frustration just pulsed off the screen, and I kiss every one of the film's creators for what they did with the Draco-sees-Katie-Bell scene and making the Sectumsempra scene work that marvelously. Draco on the tower was the unhappiest and most miserable of young men, as he should have been in that scene, and the inclusion of Harry analysing Draco's actions at the very last ("No. He was lowering his wand,") had me swooning with how utterly attentive they'd been to the core plot. Yes, I'm a thesaurus of superlatives for this. Deal.
I mentioned I felt only one real omission; in general, much as I did with Order of the Phoenix, I watched this film all the way through without any litany of, "Oh, they cut that...oh, they left that out." At the least if I did notice something I didn't think, "How dare they cut that." (Though the absence of the "I'm his head of house, and I shall decide how hard..." line did have me thinking, "Ah, shit,
Can we talk about the slash? Of course we can, it's my journal. Yes, there were all those Harry-stalking-Draco moments (how fitting that Harry laments that the ache of unrequited love "feels like this," just as they cut to a shot of Draco slinking), but the two unsurpassed moments for me were actually not between the boys (though they involved each of them).
Harry: You said Slughorn would try to collect me.
Dumbledore: Yes.
Harry: ...Do you want me to let him.
ALDFJAS;LKFL RENTBOY!HARRY HOMG. ALBUS YOU PIMP.
Second, when Snape has Draco up against the wall, and the camera pans off of them to eavesdropping!Harry just as Snape is oozing, "if you let. Me. Assist. You," I swear I heard the zipper. NOT HALLUCINATING.
Bits and pieces:
-I did not like Lavender's performance. She was a caricature. I much preferred the flirtiness shown by the Patil twins in the previous film, and expected Lavender to be more along those lines, not nearly so over-the-top. Even the glimpse we had of Romilda was realistic, and Luna, for all her loopiness, is nevertheless grounded. It was as if they'd pulled Lavender in from some cartoon. (But I blame the directors, not the actress.)
-The pensieve-memory effect was visually arresting, just beautiful. And I loved how
luminescent Riddle looked.
-Harry watching Malfoy on the map while he's in bed, OH WHAT IS YOUR RIGHT HAND DOING HARRY. BIT OF A TOSSER INDEED. Okay, that one's almost up there with the other two unsurpassed moments.
-I wince to imagine the number of screencaps that will feature Ginny rising from tying Harry's shoelace with her head at just...THAT...height.
-Harry high on Felix Felicis merits ROFLing. Hippy Dippy Weather Harry. And the scene with Aragog's dead body would have felt wayyy too long if not for the fact that we were seeing that Felix Felicis just makes things CRAYZEE.
-Am still convinced that Rickman could make a rock orgasm just with his voice.
-DRACO GOT DADDY'S PIMPSTICK.
-I was worried that Harry would not feel like the center of this film from the way the previews seemed to show everything but him. Shouldn't have worried. He still carried the film, was its center, even as other characters seized the spotlight at every turn. It's still about Harry.
-Even as the scene showcased the woes of Neville, I had to laugh that it carried through on Belby falling out of Slughorn's graces. Nice, that.
-HELLO LUCIUS'S PICTURE.
-Dumbledore: "I'm sure you must be wondering why I brought you here, Harry." Harry: "Actually, sir, after six years, I just sort of go with it." Sometimes Lampshade Hanging is perfect, yes.
-The Burrow-burning scene has been dubbed Wizards of the Corn.
-Man, I liked Hermione's Christmas Party dress.
Lots of other stuff. Just because I didn't mention it doesn't mean I didn't like it.
I've already heard a lot of criticism of the way many scenes were changed, but here I am, sitting back and saying, I thought it worked for me as a film, and none of the abbreviations or deletions, save one, bothered me in particular. The floor's open to discussion for any dissenters. ^_^
no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 06:01 pm (UTC)"Harry/Ginny, I'm giving them all kinds of credit for working on it, putting Harry and Ginny together as much as possible in emotionally connecting moments."
Thank God for that, because the book version? Um...I have absolutely nothing against Ginny but even after I found out they married and had three kids together I still wasn't buying it.
"They even did their best to put the kibosh on the Harry/Hermione chemistry in a, 'Please, everyone, we're going to spell it out for you that Harry thinks of Hermione as just a friend, because even we think this one is going to need an anvil of 'No!' We're going to have to ask you to stop going there.' "
I still remember going to see Sorcerer's Stone and near the end of the film, this middle-aged guy in the next row who didn't "look" anything like a fanboy (no T-shirts, etc.) turned to his seat partner and confidently declared, of Harry and Hermione, "Those two are gonna get married someday." I realize Harry/Hermione got colonized by the crazies but I'm glad it wasn't just me, LOL.
"I did not like Lavender's performance. She was a caricature."
She made me cringe in the book so I am actively dreading the "comedy" scenes with her in the movie. How was Bellatrix, BTW? Frankly I thought Helena Bonham Carter was a bit shit in the last movie and most of the audience was laughing when they weren't meant to because she came off so OTT.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 06:06 pm (UTC)ETA: I do hope the two of you like it! I'd say that even if I hated it, because people should enjoy the media to which they are subjected, and all. Happier world that way. But I think if you look at it as "does the film work as a film?", it does do that pretty well. There were moments when I thought, "Even my mom, the total mundane, would enjoy a lot of this."
(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 06:18 pm (UTC)I will be sure to watch out for accidental, unzipping, sexual tension :P
no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 08:10 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 06:23 pm (UTC)I thought I was going to be the only one who actually liked and enjoyed this film. I wrote a brief review on it the morning after watching it at the midnight premiere, and got a slew of replies (in person) about how I was bonkers, and the film was utter rubbish. Ridiculous, really. They all criticize the little things, (adding in the burrow getting attacked by death eaters was a big point of contention) and simply felt they could not enjoy the film for it's lack of this-or-that thing, that they felt was important.
And while this is ongoing, I sit back and think to myself- I thought it was beautifully done, considering the time they were allotted, and the massive amount of plot points and subterfuge that is required to get the point across without spelling out the ending.
But my favorite part about how they changed the film, is that, like you said, "This film flowed, with almost every scene leading into another, and less of the change-of-seasons lightness that marks the earlier films. This film should be effing dark." But for all that this was quite possibly the darkest of the books, they made it (in my opinion) the funniest of the films. And I loved it. Things like Luna's Christmas party dress and Lavender's over-the-top fawning. The vomit-worthy utterances of "Won-Won" made me laugh so hard, I thought I was going to pee my pants.
But I'm going to be honest and say that I thought all of the Harry/Hermione content in the film melted me. They did make it somewhat of a point to say that they are friends. The scene where they are discussing how it feels watching their loved ones be with others, in particular. But Harry and Hermione's friendship is just heart-warming and gorgeous. Because if there is and over-arching theme to the books, it has to be that friendship is important. I love it. *Gushes*
no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 08:21 pm (UTC)Yeah, we're FANS, and we care so much about our darling moments--I mean that without any sarcasm--that if we don't get them we can have a hard time forgiving. But (see icon) we're the hardest to please, being fans.
I too can love the Harry/Hermione for being warm and caring. While I admit, no qualms, that I saw Harry as having a larger emotional connection with Hermione than with any other female in the books, and that that makes it easy to put them together romatically, I also like them as being best friends.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 06:39 pm (UTC)... No. I can't.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 08:27 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 07:12 pm (UTC)Yes yes yes yes yes. "It's a WALKING STICK."
And you -- actually sold me on the idea of taking out Snape's rage and the "don't call me coward" line. I was kind of upset at first that they took both that AND a lot of the Spinner's End scene out, but even if I still don't like it, I guess I do understand why they did it.
But yeah. It almost made me feel like a bad HP fan (there were people all around me going WELL I NEVER, HOW COULD THEY LEAVE THIS OUT) but I really did love it.
Sad about Bill and Fleur being left out, though.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 05:29 pm (UTC)I love Fleur's speech to Molly at the hospital like crazy; I think it's a pinnacle of Rowling's ideas. But I see how they said, "This is just not a plot we should cover if we want the film to work as seamlessly as it can."
no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 07:31 pm (UTC)Are you in San Fran, BTW? This stupid hotel has no public spaces, so it's almost impossible to find out who's actually around.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 05:31 pm (UTC)I think the film will be SO MUCH FUN in IMAX. I want to see it that way.
(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 07:40 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 05:31 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 07:45 pm (UTC)Otherwise though, I think I might have liked this one the best out of any of the movies. Like you I thought they did a magnificent job with Draco (I'm so glad they actually showed the Dark Mark, too, instead of frustratingly leaving us in the dark). I actually thought Lavender was funny, but it was probably because I hated Lavender/Ron in the book and thought it was utterly pointless...so to me it was as if the film just went there straight from the getgo, admitting there was nothing really to the relationship and that it was just there to be silly. I really did love the silliness they found to work in in this movie - the high!Harry and high!Ron scenes were hysterical, and there were many other brilliant moments as well.
The Burrow-burning scene has been dubbed Wizards of the Corn
Hahaha, YES. I knew I couldn't be the only one thinking that.
Dumbledore: "I'm sure you must be wondering why I brought you here, Harry." Harry: "Actually, sir, after six years, I just sort of go with it." Sometimes Lampshade Hanging is perfect, yes.
I LOVED THAT LINE. That's exactly what I mean in this movie, with the right touches of perfectly-done humor. (What's this; direct link to TVTropes for the unaffiliated? Dangerous stuff, that.)
DRACO GOT DADDY'S PIMPSTICK.
YEESSSS. I was all gleeful when I noticed that. Oh, Draco. You go carry on those proud Malfoy traditions, of being big pimpin'. Yo.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 05:36 pm (UTC)I think the best funny in these films are the lines that just show up out of the blue like the "After six years.." line and aren't in scenes that are trying too hard to be funny.
(Hee, I just won't be satisfied until the whole world shares my miserable TV Tropes addiction.)
no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 07:52 pm (UTC)I also miss Remus something awful. How'd he fair?
no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 08:25 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 08:06 pm (UTC)What really drove me crazy was the cutting of the whole battle surrounding the final confrontation. If there's not going to be a fight, I feel like the grown-up Death Eaters shouldn't be there -- a, it seems like an unnecessary risk to them, and b, what the fuck is the Order doing not to notice when five escaped Death Eaters WALK INTO A KNOWN DARK-MAGIC SHOP, CLIMB INTO A CABINET AND DISAPPEAR -- and that eliminates the purpose of the Vanishing Cabinet scenes at all. Gun on mantelpiece = someone gets shot, they can't just fall over a cliff during the intermission.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 05:59 pm (UTC)I dislike the lack of explanation of "Half-Blood Prince" because now everyone thinks Snape's royalty or something. Or likes to give himself pretentious titles. Snape? Gimme a break.
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 08:28 pm (UTC)And I think fandom far and wide is going a bit Draco crazy after this one (which is only fitting, I suppose).
no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 06:02 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 08:44 pm (UTC)but yo know what i felt was sorely lacking?
MURTLE.
where was Moaning Murtle fangirling over an Angsty!Draco? i felt it's loss like a hole to the head.
DRACO CERTAINLY HAS GOT DADDY'S PIMP STICK. AND SNAPE WANT'S TO SHOW HIM HOW TO USE IT PROPERLY.
thankyou for making me feel less of a oddball for thinking that Riddle looked like a smirking 12 year old vampire...(who's actual age is unknown, but very old- just look at his eyes. they know things no hogwarts student or teacher could ever even dream of!)
<3
exesandohesxo
no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 06:06 pm (UTC)Vampire!Riddle is a fact of life. :D
(no subject)
From:Slash and Harry/Ginny on my mind.
Date: 2009-07-17 08:56 pm (UTC)In the context of Harry dealing with the loss of Sirius, yes, but the scene felt charming on its own. When Harry pops a breath mint afterward, I was happily muttering to myself, "YAY, YOU'RE ACTUALLY SIXTEEN." I had the same reaction during Ron and Harry's discussion of, uh, "clear skin." *COUGH*
"Harry pursuing Slughorn [...] ALDFJAS;LKFL RENTBOY!HARRY HOMG. ALBUS YOU PIMP."
I THOUGHT IT, TOO. I'll be trolling the interwebs for fanfiction in a couple weeks because, you know what? It's an awesome concept. If not present, I will gravely consider correcting the matter myself.
"The Burrow-burning scene has been dubbed Wizards of the Corn."
I'd also say this is officially the producers attempts to build up Harry and Ginny as a partnership. Ginny, in her pink bathrobe, launches after him into the mucky fields. Together, they are fighting, working, and depending on one another.
The book rushed them into a relationship; the film has wisely opted to give them a partnership. (With flirting. And a smooch.) The producers aren't going to force them into being soul mates. Even Jo, with the underlying realism of her work, never forced the subject in a flowery way.
If Harry has a canon soul mate in the film, it's Draco, NON-ROMANTICALLY, MAY I ADD. (For once. Seriously. I'm a slash fangirl, but lord, I know canon when I see it.) They are set up to reflect one another very well. Harry, during the movie, is coming to the conclusion that he is only human, and struggles with forcing a confession from Slughorn, honoring his parents, and failing to save Dumbledore; Draco struggles with being subject to Voldemort's whims, honoring his parents, and failing to kill Dumbledore. I see them as more emotionally connected, mirroring each other just a little more completely than Harry and Ginny.
This film makes a functioning, happy, future marriage between Harry and Ginny more plausible, though Harry and Draco still have all the chemistry of perfect rivals.
Re: Slash and Harry/Ginny on my mind.
Date: 2009-07-19 12:20 am (UTC)Re: Slash and Harry/Ginny on my mind.
From:no subject
Date: 2009-07-17 10:28 pm (UTC):D
*hugs*
no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 12:21 am (UTC)BUT YOU DID NOT SECTUMSEMPRA ME.(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 12:38 am (UTC)I still dislike Rickman as Snape (even if his voice is perfect) and yes, I did feel cheated we didn't get the coward scene but now you explained your point I'm okay-ish with it. I'm so glad we got the "you're asking too much" scene because I was already sure it wasn't included when it finally came.
What I also missed was youngish Tom Riddle looking more handsome than ever+~* etc because I am that shallow. I kind of wanted this movie to be about the whole tom-snape-harry thing and I didn't get enough of that. :( Well, can't expect them to cut all of the quidditch and romance crap just for me, can I?
Everything I didn't like is pretty much in line with all the other HP movies so it's something that's already accepted once I go in.
The flow... I'm not sure about that... I felt too many of the cuts?
Well there were a lot more thoughts but now I must sleep D:
no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 12:46 am (UTC)I know! When folk are talking about how miserable the romance is I have to throw up my hands and ask if they expected it to be left out. They really did the best they could, I say.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 01:21 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 12:47 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 02:24 am (UTC)There was so much from the book that couldn’t be explored because there’s not enough time and they show that? The girl was lovely but I was amused by the way they deliberately didn’t have them stand up next to each other. Poor short Daniel :-)
They even did their best to put the kibosh on the Harry/Hermione chemistry
At the first first interaction between Harry and Hermione in the movie, the SO turned to me and said, “These two end up getting married, don’t they?”
And my memory of the book was hazy but WTF was Ginny kneeling before Harry so she can do up his shoelaces? Is that how girls these days are supposed to show their affection for another person, by helping them dress?
Draco was absolutely brilliant in this. Kudos to Tom for pulling it off. (I wonder if we’re now going to get a huge number of fen getting Dark Mark tattoos?)
I swear I heard the zipper. NOT HALLUCINATING.
LOL. Must rewatch scene a million times!
There were plenty of things that I loved and just as many that I thought were unnecessary. But, in saying all that, it certainly fanned the flames of my HP love.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 12:40 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 02:57 am (UTC)I have now appropriated this expression. It belongs to me. Go away.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 12:40 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 03:21 am (UTC)Thanks for the review; am looking forward to seeing it...eventually! :D
no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 12:48 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 05:13 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 02:47 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 09:50 am (UTC)Draco was wonderfully wussy yet stoic yet crap yet hot yet ... Sectumsempra'd. Hot.
Harry was hot. Very hot. The film didn't require him to smile too much so we got less stupid faces. He does pain so very very well. I thought the ending was a little flat but I can live with that in the light of today's press release stating that the Battle for Hogwarts in film 7/8 will be 30 minutes long. I desperately hope they big up Draco in the next films, because it would be a shame to waste him now and frankly Narcissa was crap so maybe we could have Draco in the forest scene rather than her?!
All in all I felt like olden days Anne - VERY excited (much more than I expected), very slashy ... and I missed with a seriously painful pang the intrigue of not knowing what was going to happen next. I almost managed to transport myself baxck to a time where I didn't know what a Horcrux was and didn't know what would happen to Harry, his scar, etc .... So big kudos to the film for bringing back that feeling.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 02:54 pm (UTC)I didn't hear that but I had heard that the reason they went with cutting the battle at Hogwarts from this movie was for just that reason, that they didn't want to duplicate it in film 8, so, I didn't argue with that choice either.
I'm so with you on hoping they keep Draco as a serious player in the next films! It would be a waste if they didn't. They've got a little more free rein now, so, I guess we see.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 09:23 pm (UTC)I like the scene in the party, when Snape make detention to McCormack for to hide behind a curtain with his Harry. Isn't it jealousy?
Girl, I laughted so much with your review... Thanks for share your opinion!
Kisses,
MARTA
no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 02:55 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-18 09:58 pm (UTC)So all the info you provided was also rather useful!
Felton/Malfoy is orgasm on legs, as are his skinny trousers. And omg, who is that Riddle actor?
And yes, Albus the pimp!! Loved reading your post.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 02:56 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 11:29 am (UTC)Draco has horrible choices to make and it all goes wrong, Snape has horrible choices to make and he does pick the right thing and that also goes wrong...
The silly romances were great, I finally felt that I could buy Harry/Ginny and I don't even miss the last fight scene. Because lots of people whom they haven't had the time to introduce, fighting a bunch of side characters in the dark halls of Hogwarts? Doesn't really make a good movie scene. Whereas Dumbledore's final moments were EPIC, and this way they are what you take with you out of the theatre. They, and Draco's face twisted with self-doubt and hatred and "no no do not want!" feelings
And the slash, mmmgfmgkgnjnhfnkjgn
no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 02:57 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 02:21 pm (UTC)did you notice how Dumbledore's eyes flick up to Harry's when he says, "I may have...found another one,"
omgomgomg. I totally jumped out of my seat when Dumbledore said there were "traces" of magic or something and he's looking at Harry after he touched the ring and Harry does the Voldie!neck-crack. I was floored by the subtlety.
...Do you want me to let him.
this line killed me dead.
This review is brilliant. exactly how I'd have put it, were I able to write.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-19 02:59 pm (UTC)It was so deliciously subtle that I MISSED IT. I was all, "What was that?" and it wasn't until Dumbledore did the "I may have...found another one," that I realized where they were going with that. YES YES.
*smooches you*