amanuensis1: (Default)
[personal profile] amanuensis1
My, it's nice to have a little time to meme-play.

Ganked from [livejournal.com profile] lycoris:


Death Note meme--16 questions!

01. The first character I fell in love with:
Light. You can see the flashes of this bright earnest kid shining through the madness the Death Note's inflicted on him. And he's so freaking smart. Every time he engineers a new bit of plot to fool or remove those standing in his way, I just want him to keep getting away with it so the game can go on.

02. The character I never expected to love as much as I do now:
You know, I always thought Near was clever but a cold fish. I didn't really like him; I thought I'd have liked him better if he'd died. And then [livejournal.com profile] capslock_dn posted this huge page of sexy/cute Near fanart (the "Let's gangbang this bitch!" birthday celebration, oh my god), and suddenly I love the hot little minx. Yes, I have a one-track mind.

03. The character everyone else loves that I don’t:
Beyond Birthday. What? He's sort of canon. But he's kind of a sick fuck. And everyone seems to be crazy about him.

04. The character I love that everyone else hates:
Shoot, I'm not sure I have one. Raye Penber? It's not that everyone hates him, but I've seen vehement reaction to his assholishness when he tells Naomi, "Plz to stop thinking, woman, and focus on being a good little wife." Yet I couldn't find his death as delicious as I do if he weren't perfectly undeserving of it. He's a decent soul, and I felt for him, and his death is such a scary/fabulous turning point in the story. It's Light's no-going-back "MUAHAHA" moment.

05. The character I would sleep with anytime:
I wouldn't ever sleep with Light. He wouldn't want to be sleeping with me, and who wants that? But I have shameless fantasies about seducing the hell out of virgin!L. I love to imagine him bewildered and not quite understanding what I'm suggesting. Seriously, wouldn't you all seduce L, just to see the faces he'd make?

06. The character I’d want to be like:
In truth, I want to be as smart and calculating as Light and as L, but oh, jeezus, I have such fantasies of being as swaggering and as flaming and as hotheaded a creature as Mello. If I were Mello I would be such a little fairy slut and I would wear it like it was the mark of royalty.

07. The character I’d slap:
Misa. Because she'd slap me back and it would turn into a girlfight where we'd tear each other's clothes off and wrestle and all the guys would have fun watching! Ah, what I won't do for my men of Death Note.

08. Favourite character:
Light. Followed closely by L, and both of them surpassed by Light/L. Oh, wait, that's not the question is it.

09. Five favourite characters:
Light.
L.
Ryuk.
Mello.
Commissioner Gordon Soichiro Yagami.

10. Five least favourite characters:
Misa--except, she's not really a "least favorite." I hate her, but she's a great character, because we're meant to hate her. Actually I rather like her in the live-action. (And, truthfully? She'd be so much more interesting to me if Light were a girl. Her fawning worship of him is just too tainted with the sexism of it all for me not to hate her. Make 'em both girls and you'd remove all that baggage for me. Ah, well.)
Demegawa. He's a schmuck, but again, he's meant to be.
Mom Yagami. Okay, that's a fair choice for least favorite. What we see of her is too one-dimensional for her to matter to me. I can't even be bothered to check the spelling of her first name.
Beyond Birthday. I would call him interesting except for that "born with Shinigami eyes" thing. WTF?
Who else...how about...Light's first victim? I mean, taking children hostage. That's just not right.

11. Character I am most like:
Tough question. There's some Light in me. I don't believe killing will ever make a better world, but I have that solipsistic core of "Only I can do this," which is a little worrisome. There's some L in me as well. The socially-retarded fixation on an obsession. And there's some Matsuda too--I think Matsuda is a entry point for a lot of fans even if we don't see ourselves as a goofball, because Matsuda reflects the normal person's outlook on Kira--we don't believe in killing and know Kira's vision is hugely flawed, but we know a world with less crime is a good thing and we wish Kira's vision could be that simple. And I can't deny my Ryuk side, either--"G'wan, keep me entertained. I'll come along for the ride as long as you do." I also think I match up a lot with Aizawa. I'm willing to do what's right but I have a breaking point, and I may arrive at the right answers if I plod away in my own method.

12. DEEP DARK SECRET REGARDING THIS FANDOM:
I don't have any secrets, I tell everyone what I'm thinking! I have no internal filters!...Oh, all right, I've only told the closest people this one: I totally want to cosplay Mello. This embarrasses me because my rules are that if it requires a wig, I'm not doing cosplay of that character. But I'd buy the wig, and the rest of the costume, and wear it to every bloody SF con. I've told myself if I lose ten pounds, I'm doing it; that's my motivation.

13. A pairing (or more!) I love:
Light/L is my OTP for life. But I also love Ryuk/Everybody and Mello/Any Male. And I soften a little every time I think about Rem/Misa.

14. A pairing (or more!) I despise:
I just think the het is mostly boring in this fandom. I did read a great Light/Misa where he could hardly bear touching her but he was boffing her routinely to keep her happy. Yeah, that's my take on their relationship too. Oddly, I can accept het pairings for both L and Near. It probably goes back to my "seduce virgin!L" fantasy. I can see Naomi or Wedy or Halle or Takada doing the same with L or Near.

15. Five favourite things about the fandom:
The way Light/L is the overwhelming pairing.
[livejournal.com profile] capslock_dn. The place where nothing is too crack or too stupid to post. Because our brains go stupid whenever we see anything relating to our fandom, and sometimes you just have to share.
Death Note is POPULAR. Even for anime, it's popular. I walk about with my buttons on my purse and even occasional mundanes see them and say, "Hey, Death Note." This also means there's plenty of merchandise to own.
No one's teased me because I watched the anime before I read the manga and I actually prefer the anime. The music. The pacing. The killing sequence in the first episode! I push the anime on newbies, not the manga. And no one calls me a stupid cunt for it or anything.
Lots of fanart! And the fanart is gorgeous.

16. Five least favourite things about the fandom:
Not enough meta to be found! I want to read/discuss more literary analysis of the story every day. WHERE IS IT ALL.
Average age of fans = pretty young. (That's probably why not as much literary analysis.)
Language delay--I have to wait for the subs any time anything new comes out. (Nevertheless the language/culture barrier is part of what makes the story interesting.)
Too much of the merchandise makes one look nihilistic if one wears/carries it. Skulls and such. I would wear Misa's necklace because it's pretty except it's Misa's, blech.
NEEDS MORE FUNNY ICONS. *opens Photoshop Elements*

Date: 2008-08-31 01:58 pm (UTC)
ext_5487: (aggressive top)
From: [identity profile] atalantapendrag.livejournal.com
Here's a funny icon... but it's Beyond Birthday. Sorry.

I'm enjoying getting in on the ground floor of Ohba and Obata's new manga, Bakuman. It's not very similar, but the Death Note reference in the first chapter cracked me up.

And it already has a capslock comm ([livejournal.com profile] bakucaps, IIRC).

Date: 2008-08-31 02:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
*giggles* Yay funny icon! And, yes, I've seen the first issue of Bakuman and the ref gave me the giggles too!

Date: 2009-05-24 08:52 am (UTC)
ext_232730: (DN)
From: [identity profile] the-gabih.livejournal.com
Another funny icon, because yours cracked me up despite being completely unrelated to Death Note.

Actually, if they ever do get round to doing an English live-action film, Elijah Wood would be rather brilliant as L, methinks...

Date: 2009-05-24 11:59 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
Oh, that is a great icon! And now you have me thinking about Elijah Wood as L, and...I think it would be terrific.

Date: 2008-08-31 02:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] silverhielm.livejournal.com
That Near picspam may have convinced me to watch the last episodes of the anime (I'm stuck at ep. 27!)

There's some L in me as well. The socially-retarded fixation on an obsession.
♥♥

Date: 2008-08-31 02:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
It's amazing how one picspam can make you say, "Okay, I...now love this character and have fantasies about him." *mild facepalm*

Date: 2008-08-31 02:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] painless-j.livejournal.com
Seriously, wouldn't you all seduce L, just to see the faces he'd make?

Hahaha, yes, sure. But he's likely to have disgustingly cold hands and feet :)

What's Beyond Birthday?

I'm not much in this fandom but I'm going to steal the meme.

Date: 2008-08-31 02:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
Ooh, you just made me incorporate the cold hands and feet into my fantasy! *gets all glassy-eyed and happy*

Beyond Birthday is the serial killer who is the subject of the Another Note novel. It's actually quite entertaining. Reads like fanfic.

Do the meme! Do it do it! :D

Date: 2008-09-02 01:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lunarennui.livejournal.com
...i would SO love the cold hands and feet...damn you.

Date: 2008-09-02 01:36 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
...warming them up used as foreplay...

Date: 2008-09-02 02:18 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lunarennui.livejournal.com
and sweets used to encourage...bloodflow?

also i love your icon.

Date: 2008-09-02 10:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
Likely my first OTP, those two! :D

Date: 2008-08-31 06:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] txilar.livejournal.com
Oh but gosh your answers made me laugh, especially #6, but this

Seriously, wouldn't you all seduce L, just to see the faces he'd make?

HA! Yes! Totally. Not only that, but he'd question your motives at every move. ^_~

Date: 2008-08-31 06:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
*giggles, imagines dialogue*

"Why are you doing this?"
"Well, watching your face is just one of the entertaining parts."

Hi :)

Date: 2008-09-01 12:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] theadaze.livejournal.com
Just thought I should thank you for the Death Note pimping you did a while ago. Despite meaning to read/watch it for years I never got around to it, but your praising for it got the better of my curiosity and so I finally checked it out. And I'm so glad I did! It's now one of my favourite shows ever, anime or not (I haven't read the manga yet, though I did download it). I was so thrilled that for once the protagonist turned out to be an awesome villain as well. Ditto to your answer to #8. :)

Although, now I have an urge to write epic 50k+ fics about Light, L and their beloved mind-games, except that those clever bastards require such convoluted plots I'll be lucky if I get anything finished within the next decade (but I dearly love them for their high standards).

Hopefully you are still considering writing some DN fics as well? *nudge nudge hint hint etc*

Re: Hi :)

Date: 2008-09-01 01:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
I am so thrilled I turned you on to Death Note! It's so frickin' clever, I can't help but love it and want everyone else to love it. And I'm personally thrilled you started with the anime because I love the anime, for the reasons I said above. ^_^

I would LOVE to see your epic 50K+ fics. I really would. I can't get enough of this fandom.

As for me, I really want to see another round of [livejournal.com profile] dn_kink! I would totally join in for that one.

Re: Hi :)

Date: 2008-09-01 09:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] theadaze.livejournal.com
Yeah, the anime really nailed the suspenseful nature of the story. It was such an exhilarating ride watching it. *happy sigh*

I'm not sure when or if I'm going to finish any of the fics, but I'm definitely going to do some DN fan art once I get back to my studio. Though, the sheer amount of fan art in this fandom is a bit intimidating, it feels like everything's been done already.

Also, I forgot to ask earlier, do you have a link to that Light/Misa fic in #14? I'd like to read it, if you don't mind linking me.

Re: Hi :)

Date: 2008-09-01 09:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
Found it right off!

http://tokyoroadkill.livejournal.com/36319.html

Re: Hi :)

Date: 2008-09-02 08:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] theadaze.livejournal.com
Yay! Thank you. :)

Date: 2008-09-01 01:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pogrebin.livejournal.com
Argh, *flail*. I was thinking about doing this meme but there is no point because I would just have to copy and paste your answers.

Date: 2008-09-01 01:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
No no no no that is not an acceptable answer! You DO this meme, my fine friend, and point me to it when you do! *taps foot, taps teacher's pointer against palm*

Date: 2008-09-01 04:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cellia.livejournal.com
Commissioner Gordon Soichiro Yagami

hahahahha SO TRUE

I have kept away from this fandom, though, as the few people I've talked about it with in RL have all been guys who have revealed way too much uncritical admiration for Light.

Date: 2008-09-01 01:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
I love Light, but at the same time I know he's gotta be put down, the crazy magnificent bastard.

Date: 2008-09-01 06:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lycoris.livejournal.com
I don't care about B that much. I mean, I don't hate him and I intend to write about him at some point but ... I doubt I'd ever SEEK OUT fics about him, if you know what I mean.

*cracks up at your reasoning for slapping Misa* Raito would just be glaring off into the distance and Matsuda would be on the floor drooling and panting pathetically at you. And the rest of the taskforce would pretend not to be looking. Oh yes.

Date: 2008-09-01 09:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
And L would be all, "Why is that so interesting to everyone?...Hmm, they do wobble in interesting places, don't they."

Date: 2008-09-02 04:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] masakochan.livejournal.com
I'm so happy I didn't have a drink in my mouth when I read this. xD And he'd have that blank look on his face while he said that.


BTW - I'm not stalking your LJ for DN entries. I'd friended you awhile back because I found your reviews of the HP movies so interesting to read. ^^

Date: 2008-09-02 10:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
But you can stalk me for DN entries iffen you wanna, too! Heck, I do it to other people. :D

Date: 2008-09-03 11:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lycoris.livejournal.com
"Like jelly really. Hmm ... I want jelly."

And Matsuda would tell him that L really didn't understand the important things in life. :)

Date: 2008-09-01 10:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] melusinahp.livejournal.com
"I wouldn't ever sleep with Light. He wouldn't want to be sleeping with me, and who wants that?"

What's your take on Light's sexuality, then? Do you reckon he has one? Do you think he's meant to be read as in love with L in canon?


I would totally do Light. I'd just tie him down first.

Date: 2008-09-02 01:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
I wouldn't want to do anyone who was thinking, "Dammit, when do I get to get out of this bedroom and back to my work as Kira? I don't have time for this!" ^_^

I think Light had the capacity for romantic love prior to aquiring the Death Note. (He was either het or assumed he was het, from the number of girls he dated.) And then he got the Death Note, and it subverted everything. He was in love with the ideal of becoming god, and mere romantic love is for mortals, not gods.

I do think his obsession with L brought home how very not-god he was, though, not yet, and his desire to conquer L was as intense as romantic love could be. Light loved having a rival, an equal, and that was L. I like to think that if there had been any kind of consummation Light would never have thought there was anything odd about it being another male. Their equality would have made that trivial, for him.

Interesting note from the author

Date: 2008-09-02 04:49 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] masakochan.livejournal.com
From How To Read 13:

Light's Relationship with the Opposite Sex:
During college he had about five or six girlfriends, some being merely camouflage. He's likely not capable of loving a woman. This is probably because he looks down on everyone. He does possess love for his family and for humanity as a whole, however.

Re: Interesting note from the author

Date: 2008-09-02 10:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amanuensis1.livejournal.com
I must have seen that! Yup, that's pretty much my take on it. And, yeah, notice the author says, "During college." That notebook changed that kid. ^_^

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 06:42 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios